Center for Sustainability
Georgia Southern University

Who We Are

Cami SockowCami Sockow
Center for Sustainability Program Coordinator

Cami is a Georgia transplant from Southern Illinois, but a Michigan native. She received both her Bachelor’s and Master’s from Southern Illinois University Carbondale. After finishing her Bachelors in Leisure Services Management with a focus in Outdoor Leadership in 2012, she taught experiential learning in Southeast Minnesota. She then returned to SIUC and obtained her Master’s degree in Geography and Environmental Resources with a focus in Sustainability. Her role consists of managing our student sustainability leaders to help educate and illuminate sustainability issues, while overseeing all sustainability events/programming on the Statesboro campus. She also manages the sustainability grant program and builds partnerships across campus to elevate sustainability within their departments. She resides in Savannah and is actively engaged in her community through co-chairing two non-profits: the Savannah Urban Garden Alliance and the Climate Reality Project

Jade Boehmer
I’m from Richmond Hill, Ga, but grew up in Virginia and have also lived in Wisconsin, Massachusetts, and North Carolina. I am a sophomore with a biology major, chemistry minor, and a concentration in environmental sustainability. When I was in 7th grade, I watched a documentary about where our food comes from and how it was affecting our environment. From there, my interest in sustainability grew and developed into a passion of mine. I believe that we should be giving back to our planet in order for it to continue providing us with resources and a home. We only have one earth so if we want our future generations to be able to live well, we must live in a way that allows for this.


Past Team Members

Dr. Lissa Leege (2008-2020; Founding Director)

Center for Sustainability Undergraduate Interns
Aurora Evans (2018-2020)
Samantha McGuire (2019)
Nailah Mitnaul (2019)
Brian Doyle (2018-2019)
Eric Holley (2018)
Holly Kight (2017-2018)
Brandon Hobbs (2015-2017)
Alexia Taylor (2015-2016)
Cortney Johnson (2015-2016)
Steven Waldrop (2016)
Margaret Fritze (2014-2016)
Alexandra Giresi (2014-2016)
Hannah Womack (2014-2016)
Kacie Thorne (2014)

Center for Sustainability Graduate Assistants
Caitlyn Grunert (2018-2020)
Shannon Matzke (2019-2020)
Bonnie Cobb (2018-2019)
Bailey Chandler (2017-2018)
Michel’le Hull (2016-2018)
Melanie Sparrow (2015-2016)
Scott Blair (2015-2016)
Christina Beslin (2012-2015)


Last updated: 7/28/2020

CENTER FOR SUSTAINABILITY (CfS) • P.O. Box 8042-1 • Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-5895