The University is moving all classes online and closing its campuses due to Hurricane Ian starting at 1 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 29. Please visit for more information and updates.  

Skip to main content

FYSY Steering Committee

The First and Second Year Steering Committee

Building on the cornerstone of Student Success this committee is charged with ensuring that our First and Second Year Experience courses are accessible, relatable, engaging, and responsive to our contemporary educational environments. This means the committee will continue to develop materials, practices, and opportunities that prepare students to become self-directed learners capable of authoring their own educational experiences. This committee, therefore, will help develop and revise our course cores, ensure quality as those courses develop, engage with stakeholders, provide advice and feedback, and make recommendations in this development.

The committee is happy to consider solution-based recommendations. If you have ideas you’d like the First and Second Year Steering Committee to consider please submit those ideas here.

2021-2022 Steering Committee Members

Brenda Richardson, Chair, Assistant Director, First and Second Year Experience
Amee Adkins, Department Chair, Middle Grades & Secondary Education
Finbarr Curtis, Associate Professor, Philosophy & Religious Studies
Julie Douberly, Senior Lecturer, Writing & Linguistics
Brandon Dunford, Coordinator, New Student & Family Programs
Catherine Garcia, Academic Advisor II, College of Behavioral & Social Sciences
Niyonna Johnson, Student Representative
Angela Landers, Assistant Director, Counseling Center
Dantrell Maeweather, Provost Student Fellow
Nandi Marshall, Associate Professor, Health Policy & Community Health
Tanesha Osborn, Senior Lecturer, Chemistry & Biochemistry
McKenzie Peterman, Advisement Coordinator, Armstrong Advisement Center
Aiyanna Thomas, Student Representative

Last updated: 1/11/2022