First-Year Experience
Georgia Southern University

FYE Council


The charge of the First-Year Experience Advisory Council is to:

  • Serve as a sounding board and incubator of ideas for helping first-year students be successful;
  • Review and assess the FYE program’s performance and direction in light of its mission;
  • Act as a proponent of the First-Year Experience program to the larger University community; and,
  • Select the annual FYE Award recipients from nominations submitted by the University community.
Voting Members, 2017
  • Sara Bailey (University Housing)
  • Takeshia Brown (Multicultural Student Center)
  • Jessica Burke (Art)
  • Daniel Calhoun (Leadership, Technology & Human Development)
  • Caitlyn Cofer (Career Services)
  • Alan Downs (History)
  • Patrice Jackson (Dean of Students)
  • Jessica Orvis (Chemistry)
  • Cathy Robert-Cooper (Academic Success Center)
  • Staci Robinson (junior, Psychology major)
  • Salman Siddiqui (Electrical Engineering)
Non-voting, ex-officio:
  • Chris Caplinger (chair)
  • Kaleigh Caldwell (secretary)
  • Shane Clark
  • Alicia Spence

Last updated: 2/2/2017

First-Year Experience • P.O. Box 8145 Statesboro, GA 30460 • (912) 478-3939 •