Faculty Senate
Georgia Southern University

Libraries Committee


Bylaws, Article IV, SECTION 29.  The responsibilities of the LIBRARIES COMMITTEE shall be as follows:

  1. review and recommend policy for the libraries, including public services and the allocation of departmental funds;
  2. address other specific questions in this area that may be requested by the Senate Executive Committee; and
  3. report to the Librarian, the Senate Executive Committee, and the Senate as described in Article IV, Section 3.


Bylaws, Article IV, SECTION 30.  Voting membership of the Libraries Committee shall be composed of one senator appointed by the Senate Executive Committee and faculty members elected by and representing each college and the library, one per unit. Non-voting membership shall be composed of the University Librarian, or his/her delegate, who shall vote in the case of a tie among voting members of the committee, one undergraduate student and one graduate student, chosen in an appropriate manner by the SGA and the Graduate Student Organization, respectively.

Chair: Elected by Committee

Term: Two years, staggered


CollegeNameMembership StatusTerm endingCampus
Voting Members (Appointed by the Senate Executive Committee) (one needed)
COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICSDonna MullenaxVoting member (Senator)2020Armstrong
Voting Members (Elected)
ALLEN E. PAULSON COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & COMPUTINGJohn O'MalleyVoting member (Elected)2020Statesboro
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIESNatalie JamesVoting member (Elected)2020Statesboro
COLLEGE OF BEHAVIORAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES (CBSS)Meghan DoveVoting member (Elected)2020Statesboro
COLLEGE OF BUSINESS (COB)Alissa LeeVoting member (Elected)2019Statesboro
COLLEGE OF EDUCATION (COE)Stephanie JonesChair/Voting member (Elected)2019Statesboro
COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS (COSM)Quentin Fang (replace)Voting member (Elected)2019Statesboro
HENDERSON LIBRARY (HLIB)Kristi SmithVoting member (Elected)2020Armstrong
JIANN-PING HSU COLLEGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH (JPHCOPH)Ruth WhitworthVoting member (Elected)2020Statesboro
DON AND CINDY WATERS COLLEGE OF HEALTH PROFESSIONSValerie MartinezVoting member (Elected)2019Statesboro
Non-Voting Members
Bede Mitchell, Chief Librarian/DirectorUniversity Librarian, or his/her delegate:Statesboro
Undergraduate Student chosen by Student Government Association:Statesboro/Armstrong
Graduate Student chosen by Graduate Student Organization:Statesboro/Armstrong

Last updated: 7/30/2018

Faculty Senate • PO Box 8033-1 Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-5137 • fsoffice@georgiasouthern.edu