Faculty Senate
Georgia Southern University

Libraries Committee 2020-2021

Responsibilities: Bylaws, SECTION 29. The responsibilities of the LIBRARIES COMMITTEE shall be as follows:
a. review and recommend policy for the libraries, including public services and the allocation of departmental funds;
b. address other specific questions in this area that may be requested by the Senate Executive Committee; and
c. report to the librarian, the Senate Executive Committee, and the Senate as described in Article IV, Section 3.

Membership: Bylaws, SECTION 30. Voting membership of the Libraries Committee shall be composed of one senator appointed by the Senate Executive Committee and faculty members elected by and representing each college and the libraries, one per unit. Non-voting membership shall be composed of the university librarian, or his/her delegate, who shall vote in the case of a tie among voting members of the committee, one undergraduate student and one graduate student, chosen in an appropriate manner by the Student Government Association and the Graduate Student Organization, respectively.

Click here to view 2020-2021 Faculty Senate Libraries Committee meeting time schedule.

Voting Members (Appointed by the Senate Executive Committee) (one needed)
College Name Membership Status Term ending Campus
PARKER COLLEGE OF BUSINESS (PCOB) Maliece Whatley Voting member (SEC Appointed) 2022 Armstrong
Voting Members (Elected)
College Name Membership Status Term ending Campus
PAULSON COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & COMPUTING (PCEC) John O’Malley Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES (CAH) Julie Griffin Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF BEHAVIORAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES (CBSS) Barbara Hendry Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
PARKER COLLEGE OF BUSINESS (PCOB) Hyunju Shin Voting member (Elected) 2021 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF EDUCATION (COE) Stephanie Jones Voting member (Elected) 2021 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS (COSM) Shainaz Landge Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES Jessica Rigg Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
JIANN-PING HSU COLLEGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH (JPH COPH) Ruth Whitworth Voting member (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
Non-Voting Members
Lisandra Carmichael, Dean University Librarian, or his/her delegate: Statesboro
Undergraduate Student chosen by Student Government Association: Statesboro/Armstrong
Graduate Student chosen by Graduate Student Organization: Statesboro/Armstrong

Last updated: 8/4/2020

Faculty Senate • PO Box 7986 Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-8474 • fsoffice@georgiasouthern.edu