Faculty Senate
Georgia Southern University

Faculty Development Committee 2020-2021

Responsibilities: Bylaws: SECTION 21. The responsibilities of the FACULTY DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE shall be as follows:
a. recommend policy and procedures covering all aspects of the University’s support of faculty development;
b. review and evaluate proposals for faculty development funding and allocate funds budgeted for that purpose;
c. review and evaluate nominations for awards and prizes in the area of faculty development; and
d. report to the librarian, the Senate Executive Committee, and the Senate as described in Article IV, Section 3.

Membership: Bylaws, SECTION 22. Voting membership of the Faculty Development Committee shall be composed of one senator appointed by the Senate Executive Committee and faculty members elected by and representing each college and the libraries, one per unit. Non-voting membership shall be composed of the provost and vice president for academic affairs, or his/her delegate, who shall vote in the case of a tie among voting members of the committee.

Click here to view 2020-2021 Faculty Development Meeting Schedule.

Voting Members (Appointed by the Senate Executive Committee) (need one)
College Name Membership Status Term ending Campus
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES (CAH) Rob Terry Voting Member (SEC Appointed) 2022 Armstrong
Voting Members (Elected)
College Name Membership Status Term ending
PAULSON COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING & COMPUTING (CEC) Hongjun Su Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Armstrong
COLLEGE OF ARTS AND HUMANITIES (CAH) Joanna Schreiber Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF BEHAVIORAL AND SOCIAL SCIENCES (CBSS) Patsy Kraeger Voting Members (Elected) 2021 Statesboro
PARKER COLLEGE OF BUSINESS (COB) Mariana Saenz-Ayala Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF EDUCATION (COE) Kristen Dickens Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
COLLEGE OF SCIENCE AND MATHEMATICS (COSM) Shijun Zheng Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES Lauren McMillan Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Armstrong
JIANN-PING HSU COLLEGE OF PUBLIC HEALTH (JPHCOPH) Jian Zhang Voting Members (Elected) 2022 Statesboro
Non-Voting Members
Deborah Walker, Director, Centers for Teaching and Technology Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, or his/her delegate: dwalker@georgiasouthern.edu Armstrong

Last updated: 8/4/2020

Faculty Senate • PO Box 7986 Statesboro, GA 30460 • 912-478-8474 • fsoffice@georgiasouthern.edu