Skip to main content


Governor’s Teaching Fellows

The Governor’s Teaching Fellows Program was established by Zell Miller, governor of Georgia, 1991-1999, to provide Georgia’s higher education faculty with expanded opportunities for developing important teaching skills. The program is offered through the Institute of Higher Education at the University of Georgia.

The Governor’s Teaching Fellows Program is designed for faculty members who teach at accredited public or private colleges or universities, other than the University of Georgia, in the state of Georgia. Participants are selected on the basis of their teaching experience, their interest in continuing instructional and professional development, their ability to make a positive impact on their own campus, and a strong commitment by their home institution for release time and other forms of support for the duration of their participation in the program. Any full-time, regular faculty member can apply regardless of rank. 

According to the guidelines at UGA’s Institute of Higher Education, each eligible university may submit two nominees for the Governor’s Teaching Fellowship. The Faculty Center will solicit nominees from faculty, department chairs and deans. A selection committee, composed of previous Governor’s Teaching Fellows, will select 2 faculty to submit a nomination package to the GTF Program.

Please Note: Participants receive a stipend for each day of full participation on campus to assist with travel expenses and meals. Lodging is provided by the Governor’s Teaching Fellows Program.

To indicate your interest in participating in the 2022-2023 Academic Year Program GTF program, please submit the following here:

There are no current GTF openings.

  • A letter of intent.
  • A current curriculum vitae.
  • A 1-2 page teaching philosophy statement.
  • A one-to two-page description of the course or project that will be the focus of the fellowship year (see project suggestions)

GTF 2022-2023 Academic Year Program Timeline

  • Call for Applications: January 13 – February 9, 2022
  • GS Deadline to submit application: February 9, 2022
  • Committee Review time period: February 10 – 15, 2022
  • Notify GS Nominees: February 16, 2022
  • Deadline to submit application to the Institute of Higher Education at UGA:  March 4, 2022

Meeting Dates:

GTF 2022 Summer Session Timeline:

  • Call for Applications: November 1 – Dec 8, 2021
  • GS Deadline to submit application: Dec 8, 2021
  • Committee Review time period: Dec 9 – 15, 2021
  • Notify GS Nominees: Dec 17, 2021
  • Deadline to submit application to the Institute of Higher Education at UGA: January 18, 2022

Meeting Dates:

Past Recipients

2022-2023Meca Williams-Johnson
2022David Owens
2022Shainaz Landge
2019Heidi Eisenreich
2018-2019Wei Tu
2018-2019Amanda Hedrick
2017-2018Edward Mondor
2017Jessica Burke
2016Denise Gwendolyn Carroll
2015-2016Moya Alfonso
2014-2015Tiffanie Townsend
2013-2014Laura Regassa
2012-2013Steve Vives
2012Sabrina Ross
2012June Joyner
2011-2012Trent Maurer
2010-2011Michelle Cawthorne
2009-2010Angela Crow
2009-2010Delena Bell Gatch
2008-2009Michael Reksulak
2008Linda Mullen
2006-2007Janie Wilson
2006-2007Kathy Albertson
2004-2005Anthony Barilla
2004Darin Van Tassell
2002-2003Shahnam Navaee
2002Ben Thompson IV
2000Gautam Kundu
1995-1996Olivia Carr Edenfield

Last updated: 2/22/2022