Diversity Council

President’s Diversity Advisory Council (PDAC)

The President’s Diversity Advisory Council (PDAC) is a critical component in creating and maintaining an inclusive campus environment. PDAC is comprised of faculty, staff, students, and administrators from multiple disciplines and departments. Each Georgia Southern campus is represented on the Council. 

The focus of PDAC is to assist with identifying diversity needs, developing strategies to address those needs, and implementing programs that advance and enhance diversity and inclusion throughout our campus community. The Council works with the Chief Diversity Officer to identify diversity related barriers and develop the best strategies to address the barriers. 

In order to get input from a cross-section of the Georgia Southern campus community, PDAC utilizes a committee structure that includes students, faculty, and staff who desire to be a part of forward moving diversity efforts. 

College Level Diversity Councils

To further our efforts around inclusive Excellence, GS had formed Diversity Council at the college level.  All eight of our colleges and Library Services have formed Diversity Councils. Diversity Councils are comprised of faculty, staff, and students and are responsible for advancing diversity and inclusive initiatives and priorities within their respective colleges.  Each college Diversity Council is developing inclusion excellence strategies that are in alignment with Pillar 3 of Georgia Southern’s strategic plan and that meet engagement goals for all underrepresented populations in their respective colleges.

Current Members of PDAC:

Member, Title Department
Maxine L. Bryant, Ph.D. Maxine Bryant, Ph.D., Chair
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Takeshia Brown Takeshia Brown
Office of Multicultural Affairs
Thomas Bullock, Ed.D. Thomas Bullock, Ed.D.
Academic Success Coach
TRiO Student Success Services, Armstrong
Lisa Castillo, Ph.D. Lisa Costello, Ph.D.
Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Program
Cheryl Ciucevoch Cheryl Ciucevich
College of Science & Math
Director of Development
Office of Development
Dot Kempson Dorothy Kempson
Liberty Campus
Rochelle Lee Dr. Rochelle Lee
Program Coordinator
Nuclear Medicine Program
Willie Lynch Dr. Will Lynch
Department Head
Chemistry and Biochemistry Department
Jason Salzer Jason Salzer
Associate Director
Recreation & Wellness
Kelly Woodruff Kelly Woodruff
Student Accessibility Resource Center
Barry Joyner Dr. Barry Joyner
College of Health and Human Sciences
Juwan Smith
SGA President
Spencer Demink Spencer Demink
SGA Executive Vice President
Armstrong and Liberty Center Campuses
Dr. Calvin Walton
Elementary & Special Education
Armstrong Campus

Last updated: 11/13/2019

Office of Diversity and Faculty Development • 11935 Abercorn Street, Savannah, GA  31419 • (912) 344-2669 • mlbryant@georgiasouthern.edu