Coastal Georgia Center
Georgia Southern University

About Us

Our Mission

“To provide Savannah and surrounding communities the premier, technologically advanced meeting facility for business professionals and students located in Southeast Georgia; to promote life-long educational and economic development opportunities through continuing education, professional development and graduate courses.”

Our Partnerships

Georgia Southern University, a member institution of the University System of Georgia, is the largest and most comprehensive center of higher education in the southern half of Georgia. A residential campus of 20,500 students, Georgia Southern is one of the top universities of choice in Georgia for new freshmen and for HOPE Scholars. Students come from almost every U.S. state and 86 nations, bringing a broad spectrum of backgrounds, interests and talents to the University community.

The University’s hallmark is a superior undergraduate experience emphasizing academic distinction, excellent teaching and student success. Georgia Southern focuses first on students and what they value: a well-rounded college experience, a faculty where professors’ first priority is teaching and a campus environment that encourages learning and growing. With expanding graduate programs and opportunities for discovery, Georgia Southern is also committed to embracing its research mission.

The University offers 124 degree programs at the baccalaureate, master’s and doctoral levels through eight colleges: Business Administration, Education, Health and Human Sciences, Science and Mathematics, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Engineering and Technology, Public Health, and Graduate Studies. Georgia Southern is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools and has earned special accreditation from professional and academic associations that set standards in their fields.

For more information about Georgia Southern University please visit their website at:

ssulogoSavannah State University, founded in 1890, is the oldest public historically black college in Georgia. Originally named Georgia State Industrial College for Colored Youth, Savannah State University was located in Athens, Georgia for several months in 1891. On October 7, 1891, Savannah State University moved to its permanent location in Savannah. Major Richard R. Wright Sr. served as the institution’s first president from 1891-1921.

Under the administration of the school’s third President, Benjamin F. Hubert, the college became a full-time degree granting institution in 1928. Four years later, Georgia State Industrial College for Colored Youths was renamed Georgia State College

During the tenure of the college’s fifth president, Dr. William K. Payne, the school became Savannah State College. In 1996, the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia granted the school university status and the institution was renamed Savannah State University.

For more information about Savannah State University please visit their website at:


Last updated: 3/29/2018

mail mail mail

Coastal Georgia Center • P.O. Box 8009 • 305 Fahm Street Savannah, GA 31401 • (912) 651-2005 •