Continuing Education
Georgia Southern University

Prescribed Burn Manager Certification

perscribedburnheader2014

Prescribed Burn Manager Certification
Date: September 21-22, 2016
Time: 7:45 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Location: Nessmith-Lane Center, Statesboro, Georgia
Registration: 7:30 – 8:00 a.m. (Course begins at 8:00 a.m.)
Cost: $115

The registration fee of $115 includes instruction, study manual, planned lunches, refreshment breaks and numbered certificate for those who pass the certification.

Purpose:
The 1992 Georgia Legislature passed the Prescribed Burning Act which allowed the Georgia Forestry Commission to promulgate a Prescribed Burn Manager Certificate Program. Although certification is not required to practice prescribed burning in Georgia, the program is offered in the interest of higher learning and achievement for qualified prescribed burn practitioners. Certification includes self study of materials provided by mail prior to the program, followed by a training session and written test. Applicants scoring 70% or better on this test will receive a numbered certificate.

Designed for: Prescribed Burning Managers. To be successfully certified applicants must have been in charge of five prescribed burns and have two years work experience in a forestry related field or have completed a university-sponsored prescribed burn course.

Register:

Register Online Here!

Registration: 7:30 – 8:00 a.m. (Course begins at 8:00 a.m.)
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Discover card.
Please note: Online registration is for individual registrations only. Please have your credit card ready.

Instructors

Mr. Ken Parker

For Prescribed Burn Manager Certification Information Contact
Name Title Phone Email
Mary Thaler Program Specialist 912.478.5556  mthaler@georgiasouthern.edu

Last updated: 7/1/2016

mail mail mail linkedin

PO Box 8124 • 847 Plant Drive • Statesboro, GA 30458-8124 • (912) 478-5555 • conted@georgiasouthern.edu