Georgia Southern University

Student Success in Writing Conference Golden Award


Student Success Links

Student Success in Writing Conference
Friday, April 4, 2014
Coastal Georgia Center, Savannah, GA

Honoring the memory of Dorothy Golden, Georgia Southern University Assistant Professor Emerita, the Golden Award recognizes dedication to teaching excellence in first-year composition or the preparation of students for first-year composition. One award is given annually by the Department of Writing and Linguistics at Georgia Southern University.

Nominations are due by noon on Friday, March 28
To nominate a colleague for The Golden Award, please first verify that you and your colleague can meet the requirements for receiving the award:

1. The person you nominate must be a high school or college instructor who has been teaching in the field for at least five years.

2. If selected for the award, the person you nominate must attend the award ceremony. The award is announced during the Keynote Address portion of the Student Success in Writing Conference on Friday, April 4, 2014. Winners are notified in advance.


To submit a nomination, please email the following information as a Microsoft Word or pdf. attachment to both of the conference co-chairs, Nan Lobue at and Peggy Lindsey at

1. Nominee name
2. Nominee’s email and phone number
3. Nominee’s job title/position and institution
4. Number of years in the discipline (5 years minimum)
5. Subjects and levels taught
6. Name, title, email and phone number of principal or department chair
7. Your name
8. Your relationship to the nominee (colleague, supervisor, teacher, student, etc.)
9. Supporting letter: Please explain your reasons for nominating this person by addressing how he or she meets the following criteria:
a. Excellence in quality of instruction (please describe specific techniques, approaches, and qualities which make this person’s instruction in first year writing and/or in preparing students for first year writing outstanding).
b. Significant contribution to the nominee’s school (please describe other specific contributions the nominee makes that help students succeed in first year writing).

Golden Award Recipients
2013 Chip Rogers, Middle Georgia State College
2012 June B. Joyner, Georgia Southern University
2011 Matthew Gainous, Ogeechee Technical College
2010 Jane Rago, Armstrong Atlantic State University
2009 Aimee Taylor, Richmond Hill High School
2008 Donna Hooley, Ogeechee Technical College
2007 Deborah Carico, Bulloch Academy
2006 Mary Ann Ellis, Appling County High School
2005 Kathy Albertson, Georgia Southern University/Georgia Southern Writing Project
2004 Daniel Edenfield, Bulloch County Performance Learning Center
2002 Pat Fox, Armstrong Atlantic State University
2001 Linda S. Williams, North Georgia College & State University
2000 Charlotte Crittenden, Georgia Southern University
Division of Continuing Education • PO Box 8124 Statesboro, GA 30458-8124 • 912.478.5555 •